• Elizabeth

Kids Picture Books that Celebrate Diversity and Inclusion


Maddi's Fridge

by Lois Brandt (Author)

Vin Vogel (Illustrator)


With humor and warmth, this children’s picture book raises awareness about poverty and hunger.









Come With Me

by Holly M. McGhee(Author)

Pascal Lemaître (Illustrator)


In this lyrical and timely story, author Holly M. McGhee and illustrator Pascal Lemaître champion the power of kindness, bravery, and friendship in the face of uncertainty.







All Are Welcome

by Alexandra Penfold

Suzanne Kaufman (Illustrator)


Join the call for a better world with this New York Times bestselling picture book about a school where diversity and inclusion are celebrated.






The Little Red Fort

by Brenda Maier

Sonia Sanchez (illustrator)


A spunky, feminist adaptation of the timeless favorite, The Little Red Hen, sure to appeal to fans of Rosie Revere, Engineer.









Last Stop on Market Street

by Matt de la Peña

Christian Robinson (Illustrator)


This award-winning modern classic—a must-have for every child’s home library—is an inclusive ode to kindness, empathy, gratitude, and finding joy in unexpected places, and celebrates the special bond between a curious young boy and his loving grandmother.





We're All Wonders Hardcover

by R. J. Palacio


Over 8 million people have fallen in love with Wonder and have joined the movement to Choose Kind. Now younger readers can meet Auggie Pullman, an ordinary boy with an extraordinary face, and his beloved dog, Daisy.









Those Shoes Paperback

by Maribeth Boelts

All Jeremy wants is a pair of those shoes, the ones everyone at school seems to be wearing. Though Jeremy’s grandma says they don’t have room for "want," just "need," when his old shoes fall apart at school, he is more determined than ever to have those shoes, even a thrift-shop pair that are much too small. But sore feet aren’t much fun, and Jeremy soon sees that the things he has — warm boots, a loving grandma, and the chance to help a friend — are worth more than the things he wants.


A Boy Like You

by Frank Murphy


There's more to being a boy than sports, feats of daring, and keeping a stiff upper lip. A Boy Like You encourages every boy to embrace all the things that make him unique, to be brave and ask for help, to tell his own story and listen to the stories of those around him. In an age when boys are expected to fit into a particular mold, this book celebrates all the wonderful ways to be a boy.





Just Ask!: Be Different, Be Brave, Be You

by Sonia Sotomayor

Feeling different, especially as a kid, can be tough. But in the same way that different types of plants and flowers make a garden more beautiful and enjoyable, different types of people make our world more vibrant and wonderful.


In Just Ask, United States Supreme Court Justice Sonia Sotomayor celebrates the different abilities kids (and people of all ages) have. Using her own experience as a child who was diagnosed with diabetes, Justice Sotomayor writes about children with all sorts of challenges--and looks at the special powers those kids have as well. As the kids work together to build a community garden, asking questions of each other along the way, this book encourages readers to do the same: When we come across someone who is different from us but we're not sure why, all we have to do is Just Ask.







17 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All